[4hb] Day 1

This is a series of posts detailing my progress in trying Tim Ferriss’ 4-Hour Body method.

I should note that I haven’t yet read his book on the topic, but I did read his 4-Hour Workweek book. He had a blog post last week that inspired me to try it. I had been wanting to do something to help both with my FMS and lose a bit of excess weight for some time, I just lacked imagination and motivation. A friend of mine tried this last year and experienced good results except that it revealed IBS so could no longer continue the plan.

So the general rules, as you can read in his blog post, are this:

  • Eat nothing white or can be white: no breads, flours, potatoes, rice (including brown), grains, sugars, dairy, etc.
  • Eat no fruits, except tomatoes and avocados.
  • Eat lean protein within one hour (I’ve also seen 30 minutes, but that’s pushing it for me) of waking (see my egg white concoction).
  • Eat every four hours. The meal must contain some kind of lean protein.
  • Eat as many vegetables as desired.
  • Consume no liquid calories, only water, unsweetened tea (I prefer fresh brewed loose-leaf), unsweetened coffee (he allows a bit of cream or milk but I prefer black anyway).

I went shopping on Sunday with a simple meal plan:

  • Breakfast: egg white + black beans
  • Lunch: meat + black bean chili
  • Dinner:┬áchicken and fish throughout the week.

Yeah, I’m going to have a lot of recipes for you at the end of the week!

My Monday started out rough, I hadn’t slept more than a couple hours in the last two days (I even tried to exhaust myself on Sunday so I would get ample sleep, FAIL!) so I worried that missing sleep would cause me to have weird cravings I couldn’t quell throughout the day. I tried to get ready for work, per normal, and cooked myself breakfast as soon as I could move (it took about two hours after waking). Breakfast was amazing and with a full belly I was able to get in a few hours of sleep since I had given up on going into the office.

For lunch, I heated up some meat and bean chili I made the day prior. Always a yummy and satisfying treat.

At some point during the day, I saw the words “thai basil chicken” either in a blog or in my Facebook feed. That sounded delicious, and Monday is “chicken night” so I trolled Google for a recipe that contained all the ingredients we had. I found one that was close, but I had to make some modifications to it.

Basil Chicken

Basil Chicken from rasamalaysia.com

Here is the link to the original recipe.

Ingredients

1 whole chicken breast, diced
4 tablespoons red onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/4 tablespoons fish sauce
1 teaspoon chili flakes
1/2 teaspoon soy sauce
a bunch of thai basil leaves
salt, pepper, and lime juice to taste

Method

Sweat the garlic and onions in a large wok or skillet. Then add the chicken and stir fry until golden-brown. Add remaining ingredients, except basil and lime, and stir fry another minute. Add the basil and lime, and toss to incorporate. Turn off the heat and serve.

You’ll notice we omitted the sugar and the sweet soy sauce. The result was a much paler dish than what is in the photo (we ate it so fast, I didn’t think to take pictures, again). I added the lime juice (now that I think about it, that probably breaks the rules) at the end to give it a little more flavor. The dish was AMAZING. Flavorful, not too spicy, and fresh. It’s a great summer dish.

We paired it with some steam broccoli to round out the meal.

I was pretty satisfied most of the day until I got onto Pinterest around 8pm. I guess all my friends were in a food mood that evening, because all I saw were pictures of not-so-healthy dinners and sweet treats. I started craving something creamy and chocolately and thought of all the delicious desserts I wanted to consume.

No. I can have those on Saturday (because there’s a planned cheat day involved in this program!) if I still want them. I chugged my glass of water and went to bed!

I was a bit low on my calories for the day (under 700), but I felt fine until I logged into Pinterest and I was sedentary and home all day so I’m not taking too much issue with that.

Have you ever tried the 4-Hour Body diet?

About Mica Bug

An adventurer by nature, I succumb to sweet wanderlust by engaging in far too many activities and taking on an endless list of hobbies and interests.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: [4hb] Week 8 | Vanity Mirror

  2. Pingback: [4hb] Week 16: The Close | Vanity Mirror

  3. Pingback: [q4s] questing 4 super | Vanity Mirror

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 283 other followers

