recipe review: egg whites with black beans + basil

Image
a bowl of warm spit that’s really quite delicious

So I’m trying the proper breakfast thing again which I’ll write about soon, but I wanted to share the yumminess that is this breakfast.

Ingredients

6 tablespoons egg whites (I used All Whites brand)
3 tablespoons canned black beans, drained and rinsed
a few fresh Sweet Basil leaves (I’ve also used Thai basil leaves)
salt and pepper to taste

Method 1

Warm a skillet on medium heat. Add a pat of butter or a dollop of coconut oil if that’s your thing (I haven’t tried this). Gently whisk all the ingredients together in a small bowl and pour into the skillet. Scramble until well done. Eat.

Method 2

Place all the ingredients in a 2-cup bowl with a lid or small plate to cover. Microwave on high for 1 minute, 30 seconds. Carefully remove plate (the plate will be hot and the escaping steam may burn you) and stir with a fork to check for doneness. Continue to microwave in 15 second intervals until done. Allow to rest for a couple minutes until cool enough to eat.

The basil really makes this. I have yet to season mine with salt or pepper as the flavor already is wonderful.

I hope you’ll try it and let me know what you think!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

