[4hb] Week 4-ish

Oh how the pendulum swings! Updates have been lacking on account of me chasing something new and shiny (read: a boy *gasp*). But now that things are slowing down (or fizzling out, still not clear on that) I told myself I’d be a good girl this morning and give ya’ll an update.

As of this morning, I’m down 12 pounds since I started. Obviously the progress has slowed from the initial seven pound loss I experienced in the first week, but I expected that. Given that some days have been just bad bad bad bad as far as sticking to the diet, I’m going to take the 12!

Last week (week 3) I started incorporating exercise straight out of bed. No coffee for me unless I sweat first! Each morning started with four vigorous Sun Salutations and followed by one of the workouts from my Pinterest board. In all, it would take about 15 to 20 minutes but gave me a boost that lasted the whole day.

I had also planned on starting a C25K program on Sunday, but life got in the way. I gave myself three days off from working out as is customary and jumped back into things yesterday.

The weather was so nice yesterday (for Fresno’s standards) my bestie and I were able to fit in a walk in the afternoon for the first time in weeks. As soon as I got home, I grabbed my iPad, threw on some workout clothes, and jumped on the treadmill to do my first jogging program.

The biggest problem I’ve had with jogging in the past is I suffer pain in my shins. I don’t know what I did (or didn’t do) yesterday, but I had no problems with shin pain at all. I suspect jogging at a lower speed is to thank for that. I completed the 30 minutes (watching Season 3 of Downton Abbey!) without problem, and other than the red face I suffered an hour afterwards, I felt amazing the rest of the night (still feel amazing, the morning after).

I can’t wait to do my run tonight!

Oh, and I stopped being lazy and finally started taking measurements of body parts so I can monitor progress properly and not just weight-based readings (which, as any woman knows, is horrendously fickle).

2 comments

Leave a Reply

