[4hb] Week 8

Week 8. Wow. Just…just give me a moment to reflect on that.

I started this journey on June 25. First I changed my diet. I lost 14 pounds in the first month. Then I added exercise. I gained all the weight back. Then, suddenly, it all disappeared. The weight. The inches I gained. I have lost 14 pounds and 11 inches.

week 8 progress
before work
week 8 progress 2
after work

Week 7 was the hardest of all. Week 8 required a lot of effort to get over the mistakes of the previous week. I forgot to eat on Tuesday and suffered terrible tremors on Wednesday following. Not good stuff. I took care to be better to myself throughout the week. And boy did it pay off!

I started Week 5 of the C25K program. Whereas every week prior it was the same routine all three days, Week 5 is when it begins to variate. Here’s what Week 4 looked like:

  1. Walk 5 minutes – [ Run 3 minutes – Walk 1.5 minutes – Run 5 minutes – Walk 3 minutes ] x2 – Walk 5 minutes
  2. Walk 5 minutes – [ Run 3 minutes – Walk 1.5 minutes – Run 5 minutes – Walk 3 minutes ] x2 – Walk 5 minutes
  3. Walk 5 minutes – [ Run 3 minutes – Walk 1.5 minutes – Run 5 minutes – Walk 3 minutes ] x2 – Walk 5 minutes

Week 5 looks like this

  1. Walk 5 minutes – [ Run 5 minutes – Walk 3 minutes ]x3 = Walk 5 minutes
  2. Walk 5 minutes – Run 8 minutes – Walk 3 minutes – Run 5 minutes – Walk 3 minutes – Run 8 minutes – Walk 5 minutes
  3. Walk 5 minutes – RUN 20 MINUTES – Walk 5 minutes

Did you see the last one? HOLY CRAP!

So I’ve been rocking it! Okay, that’s an outright lie. I cannot seem to get past the second 5 minute jogging round. Something about the 3-5-3-5 in the previous week was very doable, but 5-5-5 not so much, even though it’s less actual running time. It’s part of why this blog post is a day late. I felt like such a failure not making reasonable progress. I started adding in jogs on my strength days, running half a mile straight without walking to help build up endurance. Yesterday was the third time I attempted the FIRST circuit for Week 5. And I finally cleared it, just barely. During the third jogging interval, my right foot fell asleep two minutes into the jog. With two minutes remaining, I called it quits and switched to walking, completely deflated. When the C25K app chimed in, “One minute remaining,” I punched to run and made myself finish strong. So maybe it was only 14 minutes of total running time instead of 15. That’s fucking success, to me.

So this week I’ll continue to work on Week 5 of the training program. I’ll do Day 1 once more at least before pushing myself onto Day 2. But I cannot wait to hit Day 3!

One comment

Leave a Reply

