[q4s] week 3

Hi! I’m back! Did you miss me?

November hit me kind of hard, mostly on an emotional level. I’m still struggling with that part of things, but I try to take one day at a time and be content with that.

The month started of with a road trip through the Pacific Northwest: Salem, OR; Portland, OR; Vancouver, BC, Canada; and finally Seattle, WA. The constant travel and sight-seeing meant very little organized exercise happened. I probably walked miles upon miles upon miles most days, so dropping my running regimen was inconsequential.

Starbucks in Seattle + inappropriate touching
Starbucks in Seattle + inappropriate touching

The time I spent in Seattle was for Burlycon, a huge burlesque conference. Since most of the classes I attended were dance and movement oriented, I again didn’t have to worry that I wasn’t “exercising.”

The trip was fantastic and memorable, and I’m so happy I got to share the journey with two of my closest friends.

But something weird clicked inside me halfway through the trip. It’s very personal, and I’m not ready yet to share my revelation to the public quite yet, but it sent me into a spiral. I’m not sure if it was up or down or what. But I was definitely left spinning.

The second I got home (after driving for 15+ hours from Seattle), I went for a run. It was just around the block, but I really needed the run. As soon as all my possessions were out of the car and in the house, I threw up, took a hot shower, and fell over in bed. Thank the gods I had the good sense to take the following day off from work.

One day turned into pretty much the rest of the week as I was plagued with one migraine after another, each one growing in severity until I spent a full 20 hours in bed one day because I just couldn’t do anything else. It was pretty wretched.

Coupled with migraines, I fell into a pretty nasty depression. I didn’t want to see or talk to anyone, but I didn’t want to sit idle either. Once the migraines let up, I started taking action to change some things. Again, these things are very personal, so forgive my vagueness.

I’ve made some progress for myself, and I’m glad for that. I’ve faltered, too, but there’s good lessons revealed in those failures. I’m trying to keep everything in perspective while maintaining my drive to get things done.

But now it’s time to turn my focus back on fitness. After returning home, I started over on the Zombies 5K program, repeating Week 1 Day 3 and Week 2 Day 3 to ease myself back into the program. When I started Week 3 Day 1 last Wednesday, I pushed myself and really owned it. Week 3 Day 2 on Saturday was even better, increasing my total running time from 15 to 17 minutes. Tonight I finish out Week 3 with a goal of a total running time of 20 minutes.

I’m amazed how strong I am on the pavement. But I haven’t been building up my strength anywhere else. I can’t remember the last time I did kettlebell swings or my ab workout. This week, I’m going to put renewed focus into strength training. Since I want to try to do Tough Mudder in 2015, I’ve decided to start working the Tough Mudder circuits on my designated strength days (which includes kettlebell swings!). I ordered one of those door jamb chin-up bars to install in my room so I can start developing my shoulders. Plus, I’m still working on handstands (did I even ever talk about that?).

To date, I’ve lost 24 pounds. I feel like that’s kind of a post script, but I’m not really that excited about it. I’m not disappointed, just kind of apathetic.

Down 24 pounds

Leave a Reply

