Plated: Crispy Tamarind-Ginger Chickpeas with Mustard Seed, Tahini Yogurt, and Spinach

A couple months ago I decided to subscribe to Plated because I needed help trying new things. I saw their pitch on SharkTank and several months later I took the plunge. Why did it take so long? The price. It was difficult to justify $72 a week on three meals. Having said that, that is probably less than what I pay each week eating out (fast food, take-out, dine-in, pre-made meals at the market). Yeah.

So in the effort to get myself to cook more, and try new things I wouldn’t have done otherwise (in my 33 years I never cooked steak until my first week with Plated, and it turned out AMAZING).

This one is from a box I received a few weeks ago, and I had to replace a couple of the ingredients (ginger, parsley, spinach) because I simply waited too long to prepare it.

Crispy Tamarind Chickpeas
Image source: Plated chef Suzanne Lehrer’s bio page.

So roasted chickpeas with cumin, salt, pepper, and olive oil are DELICIOUS. I could have just eaten those. I will be making those, just those, all the time. Try it, I promise you won’t regret it.

The recipe came out great. Super refreshing, but the cool ingredients simmered out the warm chickpeas too quickly. Things I would have changed:

  • Dressing the spinach was excessive. Maybe a touch of lemon juice, but it didn’t really need lemon and olive oil. It left my leaves too wet (and I used an ounce more spinach than originally provided).
  • The tamarind paste they provided was kinda weird. Like date skins…I don’t know how else to describe it. It didn’t incorporate at all. Thankfully the honey sauce was still delicious, but I think if I make this again, I’ll buy the tamarind syrup that local Indian spice stores sell. So glad I live in little India!
  • Double the chickpeas. Seriously. Maybe not for the salad per se, but to snack on later. Or during.
Leave a Reply

